Application of payments and 72 Hour Notices in Manufactured Home Communities
By: Bradley Kraus - Attorney at Law - Warren Allen LLP
MHCO Article Topics
By: Bradley Kraus - Attorney at Law - Warren Allen LLP
Answer: It is unclear to me whether your complaint is with the housing authority running the voucher program or the tenant using the program.
I do not recommend you refusing to allow Section 8 housing applicants. ORS 59A.421 (Discrimination in selling, renting or leasing real property prohibited) provides:
Answer: Interestingly, the current submetering statutes do not have a protocol dealing solely with passing through utilities for common area, separately from that for spaces. In other words, at the time of submetering the spaces, you could do it using the prorate method you describe, in which case it would be preceded by a 180-day notice.
The 2018 Midterm Elections are over and the results are worse than expected.
Answer: Making an accommodation like this without a writing is an invitation to problems. You can easily enter into an addendum to the Rental Agreement saying that "Rent will be paid by the 11thof the month, and late after the 15th"(i.e. 4 days per statute).
Editor's Note: The 2018 Oregon Primary Election on last Tuesday was brutal for Oregon community owners and landlords and business owners. It was a dismal election night for some of Oregon's strongest opponents of rent control.
Answer: The Oregon landlord-tenant law does not "require" that a landlord accept partial payments. To the contrary, it provides that it is a "tenant's duty regarding rent payments is to tender to the landlord an offer of the full amount of rent owed within the time allowed by law and by the rental agreement... ."
Today the Oregon Legislature convened for a 'short' legislative session - lasting 35 days until the first week in March.
Answer. There is a critical difference between fixed term leases (i.e. those having a definite commencement date and expiration date) and periodic tenancies (i.e.
Answer: It means that for month-to-month tenancies, you may not convert from a base rent model to a straight pass-through within 12 months following the date you gave a 90-day rent increase notice under ORS 90.600.